On this page:

FAQ: Moving past in the Assault phase

[Content from Battles Book page 107.]

What does this mean? Simply put, it means you can't deliberately move further away from the closest enemy when you make an Assault move. However, you don't have to move towards the nearest enemy detachment... OK! OK! Here's a diagram.

The exception to this (’cause there’s always exceptions) is when enemy units have been engaged in close combat already by other units. Then you can move past them, which is just as well because you could never move to engage other opponents otherwise.

Related information

The Assault phase